Of the county to the district Nordhausen Hohnstein

At the 12. December 1999 marked the 300. Anniversary of the day, where the county Hohenstein was ceded to the State of Brandenburg. This date should be memorable occasion, a short historical sketch of the county Hohenstein, the later district Nordhausen, to give, with particular attention being paid to the period after the Thirty Years War to the inclusion of the county Hohenstein at the Brandenburg Electorate.

In the Middle Ages to the present territory of the district of Nordhausen passed the counties Hohenstein, Lohra and Klettenberg. Toward the end of 13. Century the Counts of Velcro Berger extinct, the owner went to the Counts of Hohenstein. The same thing happened to the county Lohra 1330. By inheritance the older line of sex was forty-five years later, the two counties.

The reigning men calling themselves "Count of Hohenstein, Lord and to Lohra Klettenberg ", short county Hohenstein. They had their domicile on two castles of the dominions. They ruled in the district. Seat of government was the town of Hohenstein Bleicherode, with Ellrich also the main commercial center of the county – Nordhausen was a free city. With the death of Ernst VII, the last male of the tribe of the Counts of Hohenstein, went in 1593 their domination over. Means "Erbverbrüderungsvertrag" the Counts of Stolberg and Schwarzburg temporarily reached the county, were but a few days later by the troops of Duke Heinrich Julius of Braunschweig, also Bishop of Halberstadt, sold, because it claimed the area as a fiefdom for himself.

Peace of Westphalia (1648) except the pin Walkenried Office, the county with the cities Ellrich, Bleicherode and Sachsa awarded the Electorate of Brandenburg. The annexation is delayed until mid 1650. At the 19. June stands the county joined with the envoys of the "Great Elector" means a contract, which provided, for the county to set up a special government under an elected director of the stands.

Elector Frederick William of Brandenburg, however, had his Privy Council, Swedish Colonel Count Johann von Sayn-Wittgenstein, the county Hohenstein promised for his services in the peace negotiations and on this already 27. March 1647 overwritten. However, the elector knew nothing about the real nature of the county. The Privy Council had assured him, that the only two county offices and the town was Bleicherode and only "a few 100 Thaler be worth ". Before the conclusion of the peace of Westphalia to the Hohenstein knighthood and stands fared the notification of the investiture of the county to the Count of Sayn-Wittgenstein, However, "the high feudal, Right- and justices Ihro Churfürstl Durchl. Reserved ".

Only later – probably due to its 19. June 1650 in the county at the present Electoral Erbhuldigungseid. Envoy of Blumenthal – experienced the Great Elector the true size of the county, consisting of the gentry and Lohra Klettenberg and the three cities, a patch, two monasteries, forty-five Office- and fourteen noble villages, fourteen outworks fifty-one manors and twenty-six free goods included.

"The electoral envoys during their stays in the county of the country and people had a very different picture won, deluded as their Lord before peace was. Their perceptions of the larger scale and value of the landscape they were presented to the elector and that in concert with the Halberstadt stalls, which asked about, that the county wants to be reunited with Halberstadt. Now regretted the elector of the assignment and began therefore to new negotiations with the Count, which at 8. October 1650 were terminated ", Reichhardt pastor writes in the "Festschrift for 200 Jubilee of the Association of County Hohenstein with the Brandenburg-Prussian State "in 1899. For a payment of 150000 Thaler, the county may at any time be assigned to Friedrich Wilhelm, foresaw a rescript.

However, the Elector was the sum of 150000 Dollars to high. 1651 Graf joined Sayn-Wittgenstein to the Government. He had been on the stands in Ellricher contract 24. October 1651 their privileges and the administration of justice guaranteed by American law

Annual 1657 died of Count Johann von Sayn-Wittgenstein. The Hohenstein stands now hoped, the elector would live up to the county and the Principality of Halberstadt incorporate. Several times the articles were in this regard when Elector representations, had little success. By 18 Children of the deceased were the Count Louis Christian, Gustav, Enfeoffed and Otto Friedrich Wilhelm with new Lohra and Klettenberg.

At the 6. August 1670 Graf joined Christian Ludwig "the government of the county of Hohenstein and it took office Lohra rule and his brother, Count Gustav zu Sayn-Wittgenstein from wohlbedächtig ", was the sole ruler in the county and it is now Count Gustav zu Sayn-Wittgenstein- Hohenstein and called.

The Hohenstein stands were unhappy with the frequent changes of government. There was "a lot of complaints from the estates'. Then shifted the elector a permanent commission after Ellrich, which was responsible for the collection of taxes and contributions. The negotiations with the Elector Count of the voluntary cession of the county increased in severity, especially since the administration of the goods "most frightening negligent" and was the "Finance in a dangerously steep state" came.

Im April 1688 died in the Great Elector Friedrich Wilhelm. His son and successor, Frederick III. negotiated another eleven years with Count Gustav, tried with all sorts of subtleties and tricks, to keep the county Hohenstein. So he left on 8. March 1699 "Make the government to Ellrich publicly from the pulpit, that his county was transferred by commissionem ". The seat of government was 1691 been moved from Bleicherode after Ellrich.

After this incident was the patience of Frederick III. over. "He ordered the 25. November, the setting of the process and took possession of the 12. December 1699 using force definitively the county Hohenstein… It is of course, that this event from 12. December 1699 throughout Germany with princes and people excited a great sensation ", writes Reichhardt in o.g. Festschrift.

The Elector paid to Count Gustav von Sayn-Wittgenstein- and Hohenstein 100000 Taler and the debt assumed in the amount of almost 300000 Speeches, lying on the county.

Annual 1714 was – as they were then called – Repealed "Prussian state government for the county Hohenstein" in Ellrich and the entire area – without the free imperial city of Nordhausen – Prussian War- and domain chamber in Halberstadt assumed. 1770 decided the Prussian General Directorate in Berlin, establish a domain chamber deputation in Ellrich. This chamber was u.a. of 1770 to 1786 the poet Leopold Friedrich Günther von Goeckingk as secretary and councilor at.

After losing to the Brandenburg-Prussia battles of Jena and Auerstadt years 1806 was one of the circuit, including the Date 1802 belonging to Prussia city Nordhausen 1813 the Kingdom of Westphalia, ruled by Jerome, Napoleon's brother. Was a result of the defeat of Napoleon 1815 the Congress of Vienna in the redivision of Europe, the Prussian county again. The now large Prussia divided the country into provinces and administrative regions in this.

Until the last ally of Napoleon Kingdom of Saxony had a large part of its territory in 1816 submit to Prussia. Prussia united this new area with the existing Prussian territory of Magdeburg and Halle and the Prussian territories in Thuringia than self Thuringian small states. Magdeburg became the capital of the "Province of Saxony" with the administrative districts of Magdeburg, Merseburg and Erfurt. The districts were divided into groups. From the former county of Hohenstein with the Office Benneckenstein and once free of the Empire and the city of Nordhausen Nordhausen Nordhausen was the first time with a county seat.

1837 comprised of five county towns and sixty villages with a total 48463 Population (it Nordhausen 12163). The increasing economic development also brought a sudden increase in the population with itself, the most evident with in Nordhausen 17496 Inhabitants in 1861 noticeable was (the county total 60835)

With effect from 1. April 1882 was the town of Nordhausen, its population to now about 26500 was increased, from the county dissolved and formed its own county. The Nordhausen was allowed, upon request by the Decree of 8. August 1888 in district rename "county Hohenstein". The seat of the district administrator remained 1866 built Kreisständehaus (District building) Houses in the North Grimmelallee 23.

Of the administrative district of the province of Hannover Hildesheim belonging circle Ilfeld with its fifteen villages, u.a. with Niedersachswerfen, Krimderode, Urbach and Buchholz, was founded in 1932 to the circle "county Hohenstein" affiliated. Both the county and the city of Nordhausen belonged to April 1944 the administrative district of the province of Saxony in Erfurt.

With the dissolution of the Prussian state after the 2. World War II in 1945 in the former eastern zone, the country was re-established. At the annual 1918 Thuringia formed from the small independent states of the former City of Weimar, the former Prussian Regierungsbezirk Erfurt came with the circle "county Hohenstein", with effect from 19. October 1945 was changed again in the district of Nordhausen. Nordhausen lost the status of the independent city and county seat was again. Municipalities and Tettenborn Bad Sachsa were in British-occupied zone and came to the district of Osterode. In June 1946 came Kraja by regulation to Nordhausen, In September of the same year came the places Bischofferode, Breitenworbis, Bockelnhagen, Bernterode, Deuna, Großbodungen, Gerterode, Haynrode Holungen Hüpstedt, Hanröden, Jützenbach, Neustadt, Niederorschel (in October), Rüdiger Hagen, Silkerode, Vollborn, White-Lüderode, Wallrode, Ferrule and Zaunröden.

The emergence of two German states had a significant impact on other social, economic and political development of the district Nordhausen, who was nearly forty-five years of boundary circle now. Many places along the inner-German border were cut off from the outside world, reach for ordinary people hardly. Industries emerged during this time in the five-mile-wide exclusion zone. Were cultural and social activities for the general public it, with a few exceptions, not.

The administrative reform in 1952 dissolved the country again, and divided the territory of the GDR into districts. The Nordhausen came to the district of Erfurt. This reform was also formed new groups. For Nordhausen arose again larger territorial changes. Thus came the whole of the Golden Aue, once belonging to the circle Sangerhausen, west of the line Berga-Kelbra (also ab Görsbach – Auleben to grove – Stone bridges – Sundhausen – Bielen) to Nordhausen. Bösenrode, bei Berga, was allocated among Sangerhausen. 22 Localities (almost all, the first 1946 were integrated into the Nordhausen) went to the newly formed district Worbis, Benneckenstein Wernigerode and concern to the circle and the circle Friedrichsrode Sondershausen.

This territorial nature, as 1952 was realized, owns the district Nordhausen, of minor changes, today. Heard from the founding of the country 3. October 1990 the district of Nordhausen with its approximately 102000 The state of Thuringia with a population of Erfurt.

The county covers an area of 711 Square kilometers, limited by the Hainleite and Windleite south, Südharz the north and the headwaters of the helmets in the west and in the east the Old Stolberg, forms the northern part of Thuringia.

Text:

Steffen Iffland and Rainer Hellberg

Swell:

  • District Office Nordhausen, District Nordhausen, 1997
  • Meyer, Karl, "Festschrift for the twentieth meeting of the resin Association for History and Archaeology at Nordhausen on, 25., 26. and 27. July 1887 ", 1887
  • Reichhardt, Rudolf "The county in Hohenstein 16. and 17. Century " – Festschrift for the 200th Jubilee of the Association of County Hohenstein with the Brandenburg-Prussian State, 12. December 1899
  • Duke, Violet, "History of the district Nordhausen" – Yearbook of the district Nordhausen 1990-1993
  • Dr. Silver Borth, Hans "The millennial Nordhausen", Band 2, 1927

Photo Credits:

both photos from the archive R. Hellberg

write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked.

*

This website uses Akismet, to reduce spam. Learn more about, like your comment data is processed.

Von der Grafschaft Hohnstein zum Landkreis Nordhausen

Am 12. Dezember 1999 jährte sich zum 300. Mal der Tag, an dem die Grafschaft Hohenstein wieder an dem Staat Brandenburg angegliedert wurde. Dieses denkwürdige Datum soll Anlaß sein, einen kleinen geschichtlichen Abriß der Grafschaft Hohenstein, dem späteren Landkreis Nordhausen, zu geben, wobei besonderes Augenmerk auf die Zeit nach dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg bis zur Eingliederung der Grafschaft Hohenstein an das Kurfürstentum Brandenburg gelegt wird.

Im Mittelalter bestanden auf dem heutigen Gebiet des Landkreises Nordhausen die Grafschaften Hohenstein, Lohra und Klettenberg. Als gegen Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts das Grafengeschlecht der Klettenberger ausstarb, gingen die Eigentümer auf die Grafen von Hohenstein über. Das gleiche passierte mit der Grafschaft Lohra um 1330. Durch Erbteilung erhielt die ältere Linie des Geschlechts fünfundvierzig Jahre später die beiden Grafschaften.

Die regierenden Herren nannten sich fortan „Graf von Hohenstein, Herr zu Lohra und Klettenberg“, kurz Grafschaft Hohenstein. Ihr Domizil hatten sie auf beiden Burgen der Herrschaften. Sie herrschten im Kreisgebiet. Sitz der Hohensteiner Regierung war das Städtchen Bleicherode, mit Ellrich auch das wichtigste Gewerbezentrum der Grafschaft – Nordhausen war freie Reichsstadt. Mit dem Tod Ernst VII., der letzte des männlichen Stammes der Grafen von Hohenstein, ging im Jahre 1593 deren Herrschaft zu Ende. Mittels „Erbverbrüderungsvertrag“ gelangten die Grafen von Stolberg und Schwarzburg vorübergehend die Grafschaft, wurden aber wenige Tage später von den Truppen des Herzogs Heinrich Julius von Braunschweig, zugleich Bischof von Halberstadt, vertrieben, da dieser das Gebiet als Lehen für sich beanspruchte.

Im Westfälischen Frieden (1648) wurde mit Ausnahme des Stiftsamtes Walkenried die Grafschaft mit den Städten Ellrich, Bleicherode und Sachsa dem Kurfürstentum Brandenburg zugesprochen. Die Angliederung verzögert sich jedoch bis Mitte 1650. Am 19. Juni schlossen die Stände der Grafschaft mit den Abgesandten des „Großen Kurfürsten“ einen Vertrag, der vorsah, für die Grafschaft eine besondere Regierung unter einem von den Ständen gewählten Direktor einzurichten.

Kurfürst Friedrich Wilhelm von Brandenburg hatte jedoch seinem Geheimen Rat, den schwedischen Obristen Graf Johann von Sayn-Wittgenstein, die Grafschaft Hohenstein für seine Verdienste bei den Friedensverhandlungen versprochen und diese bereits am 27. März 1647 überschrieben. Allerdings wußte der Kurfürst nichts über die wahre Beschaffenheit der Grafschaft. Der Geheime Rat hatte ihm versichert, daß die Grafschaft lediglich aus zwei Ämtern und dem Städtchen Bleicherode bestand und nur „wenige 100 Thaler wert sein“. Noch vor Abschluß des Friedens von Münster und Osnabrück erging an die Hohensteiner Ritterschaft und Stände die Benachrichtigung von der Belehnung der Grafschaft an den Grafen von Sayn-Wittgenstein, allerdings „die hohen Lehens-, Rechts- und Gerechtigkeiten Ihro Churfürstl Durchl. vorbehalten“.

Erst später – wahrscheinlich durch seinen am 19. Juni 1650 in der Grafschaft beim Erbhuldigungseid anwesenden Kurfürstl. Gesandten von Blumenthal – erfuhr der Große Kurfürst den wahren Größe der Grafschaft, die aus den Herrschaften Lohra und Klettenberg bestand und die drei Städte, ein Flecken, zwei Klöster, fünfundvierzig Amts- und vierzehn adlige Dörfer, vierzehn Vorwerke einundfünfzig Rittergüter und sechsundzwanzig Freigüter umfaßte.

„Die kurfürstlichen Gesandten mußten bei ihrem Aufenthalte in der Grafschaft von Land und Leute ein ganz anderes Bild gewonnen haben, als ihrem Herrn vor dem Frieden vorgespiegelt war. Ihre Wahrnehmungen von dem größeren Umfange und Werte der Landschaft hatten sie dem Kurfürsten vorgestellt und zwar in Gemeinschaft mit den Halberstädter Ständen, welche darum baten, daß die Grafschaft wieder mit Halberstadt vereint werden möchte. Nun bereute der Kurfürst die Abtretung und fing deshalb neue Unterhandlungen mit dem Grafen an, welche am 8. Oktober 1650 beendigt wurden“, schreibt Pfarrer Reichhardt in der „Festschrift zur 200 Jubelfeier der Vereinigung der Grafschaft Hohenstein mit dem brandenburgisch-preußischen Staate“ im Jahre 1899. Gegen eine Zahlung von 150000 Taler sollte die Grafschaft jederzeit wieder an Friedrich Wilhelm abgetreten werden können, sah ein Reskript vor.

Allerdings war den Kurfürst die Summe von 150000 Taler zu hoch. 1651 trat Graf Sayn-Wittgenstein die Regierung an. Er hatte zuvor den Ständen im Ellricher Vertrag vom 24. Oktober 1651 ihre Privilegien und die Rechtspflege nach sächsischem Recht zugesichert

Im Jahre 1657 starb der Graf Johann von Sayn-Wittgenstein. Die Hohensteiner Stände hofften nun, der Kurfürst würde die Grafschaft einlösen und dem Fürstentum Halberstadt einverleiben. Mehrmals wurden die Stände diesbezüglich beim Kurfürst vorstellig, hatten aber wenig Erfolg. Von den 18 Kindern des Verstorbenen wurden die Grafen Ludwig Christian, Gustav, Otto und Friedrich Wilhelm mit Lohra und Klettenberg neu belehnt.

Am 6. August 1670 trat Graf Christian Ludwig „die Regierung der Grafschaft Hohenstein und darin belegte Herrschaft und Amt Lohra auf seinen Bruder, Graf Gustav zu Sayn-Wittgenstein wohlbedächtig ab“, der damit alleiniger Herrscher in der Grafschaft war und sich nun Graf Gustav zu Sayn-Wittgen- und Hohenstein nannte.

Die Hohensteiner Stände waren mit dem häufigen Regierungswechsel unzufrieden. Es gab „jede Menge Beschwerden der Landstände“. Daraufhin verlagerte der Kurfürst eine ständige Kommission nach Ellrich, der die Erhebung der Steuern und Kontributionen oblag. Die Verhandlungen des Kurfürsten mit dem Grafen über die freiwillige Abtretung der Grafschaft nahm an Schärfe zu, zumal die Verwaltung der Güter „höchst beängstigend nachlässig“ erfolgte und die „Finanzen in einen bedenklich abschüssigen Zustand“ gerieten.

Im April 1688 starb der Große Kurfürst Friedrich Wilhelm. Sein Sohn und Thronfolger Friedrich III. verhandelte weitere elf Jahre mit Graf Gustav, der mit allen möglichen Raffinessen und Tricks versuchte, die Grafschaft Hohenstein zu behalten. So ließ er am 8. März 1699 „von der Regierung zu Ellrich öffentlich von der Kanzel bekannt machen, daß ihm die Grafschaft per commissionem übertragen sei“. Der Regierungssitz war 1691 von Bleicherode nach Ellrich verlegt worden.

Nach diesem Vorkommnis war die Geduld Friedrichs III. zu Ende. „Er befahl am 25. November die Einstellung des Prozesses und bemächtigte sich am 12. Dezember 1699 unter Anwendung von Gewalt endgültig der Grafschaft Hohenstein… Es ist selbstverständlich, daß dieses Ereignis vom 12. Dezember 1699 in ganz Deutschland bei Fürsten und Volk ein gewaltiges Aufsehen erregte“, schreibt Reichhardt in der o.g. Festschrift.

Der Kurfürst zahlte an Graf Gustav von Sayn-Wittgen- und Hohenstein 100000 Taler und übernahm die Schuldenlast in Höhe von fast 300000 Taler, die auf der Grafschaft lag.

Im Jahre 1714 wurde die – wie sie sich damals nannte – „preußische Landesregierung für die Grafschaft Hohenstein“ in Ellrich aufgehoben und das gesamte Gebiet – ohne die freie Reichsstadt Nordhausen – der preußischen Kriegs- und Domänenkammer in Halberstadt unterstellt. 1770 beschloß das preußische Generaldirektorium in Berlin, eine Domänenkammer-Deputation in Ellrich einzurichten. Dieser Kammer gehörte u.a. von 1770 bis 1786 der Dichter Leopold Friedrich Günther von Goeckingk als Sekretär und Kanzleirat an.

Nach der für Brandenburg-Preußen verlorenen Schlachten bei Jena und Auerstädt im Jahre 1806 gehörte der Kreis einschließlich der seit 1802 zu Preußen gehörenden Stadt Nordhausen bis 1813 zum Königreich Westfalen, regiert von Jèrome, dem Bruder Napoleons. Infolge der Niederlage Napoleons wurde 1815 auf dem Wiener Kongreß bei der Neuaufteilung Europas die Grafschaft wieder preußisch. Das nunmehr große Preußen unterteilte das Land in Provinzen und diese in Regierungsbezirke.

Das bis zuletzt mit Napoleon verbündete Königreich Sachsen mußte einen Großteil seines Territoriums im Jahre 1816 an Preußen abgeben. Preußen vereinigte dieses neue Gebiet mit den bisherigen preußischen Territorium von Magdeburg und Halle sowie die preußischen Gebiete in Thüringen mit Ausnahme der selbständigen Thüringer Kleinstaaten. Magdeburg wurde Hauptstadt der „Provinz Sachsen“ mit den Regierungsbezirken Magdeburg, Merseburg und Erfurt. Die Regierungsbezirke wurden wiederum in Kreise unterteilt. Aus der ehemaligen Grafschaft Hohenstein mit dem Amt Benneckenstein sowie der einst freien und des Reiches Stadt Nordhausen wurde der Kreis Nordhausen mit erstmals Nordhausen als Kreisstadt.

1837 umfaßte der Kreis fünf Städte und einundsechzig Dörfer mit insgesamt 48463 Einwohner (davon Nordhausen 12163). Die zunehmende wirtschaftliche Entwicklung brachte auch eine sprunghafte Steigerung der Bevölkerungszahlen mit sich, die sich am deutlichsten in Nordhausen mit 17496 Einwohnern im Jahre 1861 bemerkbar machte (der Kreis insgesamt 60835)

Mit Wirkung vom 1. April 1882 wurde die Stadt Nordhausen, deren Einwohnerzahl inzwischen auf etwa 26500 gestiegen war, aus dem Kreisgebiet herausgelöst und bildete einen eigenen Stadtkreis. Der Kreis Nordhausen durfte sich auf Ersuchen mit Erlaß vom 8. August 1888 in Kreis „Grafschaft Hohenstein“ umbenennen. Der Sitz des Landrates blieb im 1866 erbauten Kreisständehaus (Landratsgebäude) in der Nordhäuser Grimmelallee 23.

Der zum Regierungsbezirk Hildesheim der Provinz Hannover gehörende Kreis Ilfeld mit seinen fünfzehn Dörfern, u.a. mit Niedersachswerfen, Krimderode, Urbach und Buchholz, wurde im Jahre 1932 an den Kreis „Grafschaft Hohenstein“ angegliedert. Sowohl der Kreis als auch der Stadtkreis Nordhausen gehörten bis April 1944 zum Regierungsbezirk Erfurt der Provinz Sachsen an.

Mit der Auflösung des Landes Preußen nach dem 2. Weltkrieg im Jahre 1945 wurden in der damaligen erfolgte Ostzone die Länder wieder errichtet. Zu dem im Jahre 1918 gebildeten Land Thüringen aus den kleinen ehemaligen selbständigen Staaten mit der Landeshauptstadt Weimar kam der einstige preußische Regierungsbezirk Erfurt mit dem Kreis „Grafschaft Hohenstein“, der mit Wirkung vom 19. Oktober 1945 wieder in Landkreis Nordhausen umbenannt wurde. Nordhausen verlor den Status der kreisfreien Stadt und wurde wieder Kreisstadt. Die Kommunen Tettenborn und Bad Sachsa lagen im englischen Besatzungsgebiet und kamen zum Landkreis Osterode. Im Juni 1946 kam Kraja per Verordnung zum Kreis Nordhausen, im September des gleichen Jahres folgten die Orte Bischofferode, Breitenworbis, Bockelnhagen, Bernterode, Deuna, Großbodungen, Gerterode, Haynrode Holungen Hüpstedt, Hanröden, Jützenbach, Neustadt, Niederorschel (im Oktober), Rüdigershagen, Silkerode, Vollenborn, Weißenborn-Lüderode, Wallrode, Zwinge und Zaunröden.

Die Entstehung zweier deutscher Staaten hatte wesentliche Auswirkungen für die weitere gesellschaftliche, wirtschaftliche und politische Entwicklung des Kreises Nordhausen, der nun fast fünfundvierzig Jahre Grenzkreis war. Viele Orte an der innerdeutschen Grenze waren von der Außenwelt abgeschnitten, für Normalbürger kaum zu erreichen. Industriebetriebe entstanden während dieser Zeit nicht in dieser fünf Kilometer breiten Sperrzone. Kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Aktivitäten für die breite Öffentlichkeit gab es, bis auf wenige Ausnahmen, nicht.

Die Verwaltungsreform im Jahre 1952 löste die Länder wieder auf und teilte das Territorium der DDR in Bezirke ein. Der Kreis Nordhausen kam zum Bezirk Erfurt. Im Zuge dieser Reform wurden auch neue Kreise gebildet. Für den Kreis Nordhausen ergaben sich wiederum größere territoriale Veränderungen. So kam das gesamte Gebiet der Goldenen Aue, einst zum Kreis Sangerhausen gehörend, westlich der Linie Berga-Kelbra (also ab Görsbach – Auleben bis Hain – Steinbrücken – Sundhausen – Bielen) zum Kreis Nordhausen. Bösenrode, bei Berga, wurde dem Kreis Sangerhausen zugeteilt. 22 Ortschaften (fast alle, die erst 1946 in den Kreis Nordhausen integriert wurden) gingen an den neugebildeten Kreis Worbis, Benneckenstein und Sorge an den Kreis Wernigerode sowie Friedrichsrode an den Kreis Sondershausen.

Diese territoriale Beschaffenheit, wie sie 1952 realisiert wurde, besitzt der Landkreis Nordhausen, von geringfügigen Veränderungen, noch heute. Mit der Neugründung der Länder gehört ab 3. Oktober 1990 der Landkreis Nordhausen mit seinen rund 102000 Einwohnern zum Land Thüringen mit der Landeshauptstadt Erfurt.

Das Kreisgebiet mit einer Fläche von 711 Quadratkilometer, begrenzt durch die Hainleite und Windleite im Süden, dem Südharz im Norden sowie dem Quellgebiet der Helme im Westen und dem Alten Stolberg im Osten, bildet den nördlichsten Teil des Landes Thüringen.

Text:

Steffen Iffland und Rainer Hellberg

Quellen:

  • Landratsamt Nordhausen, Landkreis Nordhausen, 1997
  • Meyer, Karl, „Festschrift zur zwanzigsten Hauptversammlung des Harzvereins für Geschichte und Altertumskunde zu Nordhausen am, 25., 26. und 27. Juli 1887“, 1887
  • Reichhardt, Rudolf „Die Grafschaft Hohenstein im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert“ – Festschrift zur 200jährigen Jubelfeier der Vereinigung der Grafschaft Hohenstein mit dem brandenburgisch-preußischen Staate, 12. Dezember 1899
  • Herzog, Viola, „Geschichte des Landkreises Nordhausen“ – Jahrbuch des Landkreises Nordhausen 1990-1993
  • Dr. Silberborth, Hans „Das tausendjährige Nordhausen“, Band 2, 1927

Fotonachweis:

beide Fotos aus dem Archiv R. Hellberg

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

*