Heeres-Munitionsanstalt Ludwigshall Wolkramshausen

The overall history of the shaft „Ludwigshall“ Wolkramshausen with the explosives disaster in the year 1942 with 145 Fatalities

To the shop

foreword

At the 29. July 1942 occurred in the underground army ammunition facility Wolkramshausen near Nordhausen in 660 Meters deep, a major explosion, the least 145 most of the forced laborers there had lost their lives.

Cover of the publication

In the GDR era only very little information was available about this. Contemporary witnesses did not report; they would have voluntarily revealed it, that they once worked in a secret ammunition factory of the fascist armed forces, in which large-caliber projectile ammunition had been produced in large quantities, the soldiers and civilians of the victorious Allied powers had brought death.

The first, however, for the time being only known in the old federal states of the Federal Republic of Germany is a three-part publication "It happened on 29. July 1942 in Wolkramshausen“Is from the year 1982; but unfortunately without references. The author was Hugo Müller from the Association of German Fireworkers and Defense Technicians. 2015 managed, to purchase the three magazine originals from the archive of the Association of German Fireworks.

Postcard collection: Nordhausen shaft construction

The previous publications by the military historian Frank Baranowski on this subject have been limited 1998 in the brochure "Arms projects in the Nordhausen region, Worbis and Heiligenstadt during the Nazi era“On four pages of text with a photo of an empty ammunition storage room and in the year 2000 in the brochure "The repressed past / Armaments projects and forced labor in Northern Thuringia“With partly repetitive information on four pages of text with two new underground photos. In his main publication "Arms production in central Germany 1929 – 1945“ from the year 2013 with 599 Frank Baranowski only briefly mentioned the explosion in the Wolkramshausen army ammunition facility without further background information. The focus of this very important work was on the presentation of new knowledge about other ammunition companies.

Insightful background information conveyed in part three 1998 Brief eyewitness reports published in public Thuringian media.

The gain in completely new information and previously unknown photographic material and documents in recent years was due to the following circumstances. On the one hand, during and after the memorial event on 29. July 2012 with more than 300 Participants witnessed and relatives of contemporary witnesses and on the other hand it was through the decision of the Thuringian State Mining Office, to open the closed Ludwigshall shaft again, to control the pit and then to keep the shaft permanently, became possible, 2012 to advance into the pit field, the area of ​​the happenings of 1942 and to document for this elaboration. In the end it worked, by the scientific employee of the German Historical Institute Moscow, Dr. Matthias Uhl, four copies of original Soviet documents from the years 1945 and 1946 via Wolkramshausen and three other neighboring former army ammunition plants.

Ullrich Mallis, November 2017

write a comment

Your email address will not be published.

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.

*

This website uses Akismet, to reduce spam. Learn more about, like your comment data is processed.

Heeres-Munitionsanstalt Ludwigshall Wolkramshausen

Die Gesamtgeschichte des Schachtes “Ludwigshall” Wolkramshausen mit der Sprengstoffkatastrophe im Jahre 1942 mit 145 Todesopfern

Zum Shop

Vorwort

Am 29. Juli 1942 ereignete sich in der unterirdischen Heeres-Munitionsanstalt Wolkramshausen bei Nordhausen in 660 Meter Tiefe eine Großexplosion, die mindestens 145 dort größtenteils zwangsweise Beschäftigten das Leben gekostet hatte.

Cover der Publikation

In der DDR-Zeit waren darüber nur äußerst spärliche Informationen verfügbar. Zeitzeugen haben nicht berichtet; hätten sie damit doch freiwillig zu erkennen gegeben, dass sie einst in einer geheimen Munitionsfabrik der faschistischen Wehrmacht gearbeitet haben, in der großkalibrige Geschossmunition in großen Mengen hergestellt worden war, die Soldaten und Zivilisten der alliierten Siegermächte den Tod gebracht hatten.

Die erste, jedoch vorerst nur in den alten Bundesländern der Bundesrepublik bekannt gewordene dreiteilige Publikation „Es geschah am 29. Juli 1942 in Wolkramshausen“ stammt aus dem Jahre 1982; jedoch leider ohne Quellenangaben. Der Verfasser war Hugo Müller vom Bund Deutscher Feuerwerker und Wehrtechniker. 2015 gelang es, vom Archiv des Bundes Deutscher Feuerwerker die drei Zeitschriftenoriginale käuflich zu erwerben.

Ansichtskarte Sammlung: Schachtbau Nordhausen

Die bisherigen Veröffentlichungen des Militärhistorikers Frank Baranowski zu diesem Thema beschränkten sich 1998 in der Broschüre „Rüstungsprojekte in der Region Nordhausen, Worbis und Heiligenstadt während der NS-Zeit“ auf vier Textseiten mit einem Foto von einem leeren Munitionslagerraum sowie im Jahre 2000 in der Broschüre „Die verdrängte Vergangenheit / Rüstungsprojekte und Zwangsarbeit in Nordthüringen“ mit zum Teil wiederholenden Angaben auf vier Textseiten mit zwei neuen Untertage-Fotos. In seiner Hauptpublikation „Rüstungsproduktion in der Mitte Deutschlands 1929 – 1945“ aus dem Jahre 2013 mit 599 Seiten hat Frank Baranowski das Explosionsunglück in der Heeres-Munitionsanstalt Wolkramshausen ohne weiterführende Hintergrundinformationen nur kurz genannt. Der Schwerpunkt dieser sehr bedeutenden Arbeit lag auf der Darstellung neuer Erkenntnisse zu anderen Munitionsanstalten.

Aufschlussreiche Hintergrundinformationen vermittelten zum Teil drei ab 1998 in öffentlichen Thüringer Medien erschienene kurze Zeitzeugenberichte.

Der Zugewinn von völlig neuen Informationen und bislang unbekanntem Fotomaterial und Dokumenten in den letzten Jahren war folgenden Umständen zu verdanken. Zum einen haben sich während und nach der Gedenkveranstaltung am 29. Juli 2012 mit über 300 Teilnehmern Zeitzeugen und Angehörige von Zeitzeugen gemeldet und zum anderen war es durch den Beschluss des Thüringer Landesbergamtes, den verschlossenen Schacht Ludwigshall wieder zu öffnen, die Grube zu kontrollieren und dann den Schacht endgültig zu verwahren, möglich geworden, 2012 in das Grubenfeld vorzudringen, den Bereich der Geschehnisse von 1942 aufzusuchen und für diese Ausarbeitung zu dokumentieren. Letztlich gelang es auch, durch den wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter des Deutschen Historischen Institutes Moskau, Herrn Dr. Matthias Uhl, vier Kopien von sowjetischen Originaldokumenten aus den Jahren 1945 und 1946 über Wolkramshausen und drei weitere benachbarte ehemalige Heeres-Munitionsanstalten zu erhalten.

Ullrich Mallis, November 2017

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.

*

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.